Crowdsourcing Human Rights Research, An Online Discussion About Amnesty’s Decoder Project


Join us for the next Network-Centric Resources Online Discussion, our series featuring resource developers sharing hard-earned knowledge and lessons learned. Milena Marin will be reflecting on developing Amnesty’s Decoder Project, a crowdsourcing platform that enables digital volunteers anywhere in the world to participate in groundbreaking human rights research. It allows anyone to participate and help Amnesty analyse vast volumes of data such as satellite images, documents, pictures and social media messages.  Currently, Amnesty is enlisting volunteers to participate in the latest Decoders project: Troll Patrol. You can join now, learn more and help them analyse 500,000 tweets sent to women politicians and journalists to expose online abuse against women.

Milena has ten years’ experience working at the intersection of technology, data and social good. She is currently working with Amnesty International, leading Amnesty Decoders. Previously she worked as programme manager of School of Data where she trained and mentored numerous NGOs and journalists around the world to make the most of their data and reach new audiences. She also worked for over four years with Transparency International where she supported TI’s global network to use technology in the fight against corruption.

The online discussion will take place on Tuesday, April 24th, at 8:00 PDT, 9:00 CST, 11:00 EST, 16:00 BST, 17:00 CEST, 18:00 EAT, 20:30 IST.

 

RSVP to get details on how to join the online discussion

Fields marked with a * are required

Please fill out the registration form below so we can send you the URL and more up to date information prior to the online discussion.